Awards night celebrates young industry talent

It was an amazing evening at the Underglobe, London last night as we celebrated the achievements of the finalists of the annual Duke of Gloucester Young Achievers Scheme. HRH The Duke of Gloucester was joined by over 230 senior industry figures and young people for a glittering awards dinner and ceremony.

Now in its fourth year, the Scheme, looks for young people who have overcome barriers to get to where they are, and judges read applications from young people who had shown exceptional resilience and determination.

Our Executive Director, Christine Townley said, “it was a wonderful evening and it was a real privilege to meet so many young talented people. They have all achieved great things so far in their careers despite having to overcome challenges to get there and they all deserved the recognition they received tonight. We are very lucky that they have all chosen construction as a career – they are the future of the success of the industry,

The awards had 5 categories; Design & Architecture, Construction Delivery, Surveying, Engineering and Project Management.

Winners will each receive a unique package of support through the Trust and development opportunities through a one year mentoring programme to enable them to make an even greater impact in their future careers.

We are delighted to announce the winners are:

Winner of winners: Dylan Shankland, North Ayrshire Council

Construction Delivery: Yasar Ugur, Berkeley Homes

Design and Architecture: Sarah Habershon, Hawkins Brown Architects

Engineering: Yvonne Murphy, Arup

Project Management Winner: Nazma Uddin, Rise Management Consultant

Surveying Joint Winners: Luke Brooker, EC Harris and Dylan Shankland, North Ayrshire Council

The highly commended finalists were:

Design and Architecture: Lucy Stephens, WRW Construction

Engineering: Michael McClean, Aecom

Construction Delivery: Zoe Haigh, Hyder Consulting

Project Management: Nochum Dewhurst, Dewhurst Consulting


The Awards were sponsored this year by CITB, KPMG, AECOM, PRP, EC Harris and John Rowan and Partners.