Celebrating construction's young achievers

We have launched our fourth annual awards scheme The Duke of Gloucester’s Young Achievers Scheme 2015.

The Duke of Gloucester’s Young Achievers scheme is a great opportunity for exceptional young professionals in the built environment under 30 to be commended and celebrated for their achievements.

There are five categories to enter: Construction Delivery, Design and Architecture, Engineering, Project Management and Surveying.  One of the category winners is chosen as overall winner of the awards scheme.

Finalists are judged by a panel of industry experts through a process of presentations and interviews, and look for young people who have not only achieved excellence in their careers so far, but who have had to overcome barriers and challenges or social disadvantage to get to where they are. Judges  also look for those who give back to the community and go the extra mile by being involved with activities or initiatives that benefit the community or the construction industry at large.

Each winner will receive a cash prize and a unique development opportunity through the Trust with a one year mentoring programme to enable them to make an even greater impact in the years to come.

Applicants for The Duke of Gloucester’s Young Achievers Scheme have until the 7th November 2014 to apply for these prestigious awards.

Gary Fowler won the Construction Delivery category, a new category introduced that year, and went on to become Overall Winner of the awards.  Despite starting as a ground worker with little practical or management experience or expertise Gary has now progressed to the role site agent on one of J. Breheny’s major projects and is a valued member of their team.  The awards judges commented:

“Gary has an excellent understanding of the diverse skills needed in delivering projects and understands the importance of building relationships with clients and his suppliers to make a project a success. He has demonstrated that it is possible to progress rapidly in construction with the right amount of passion and dedication which he demonstrated.”

For further information on the awards and how to apply please see here.

The Categories:

1.        Construction Delivery

2.        Design and Architecture

3.        Engineering

4.        Project Management

5.        Surveying

6.        Overall winner (individual chosen from the winners of the other 5 categories)

The winners will be presented at an awards dinner in Spring 2015.

The awards are being sponsored this year by AECOM, CITB, EC Harris, KPMG and John Rowan and Partners.  To find out how you can sponsor the awards please contact John Graham